Law Enforcement Torch Run


Who We Are

The Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR) is the largest public awareness vehicle and grass-roots fundraiser for Special Olympics. Known honorably as Guardians of the Flame®  law enforcement members and Special Olympics athletes carry the Flame of Hope into the Opening Ceremony of local competitions, and into Special Olympics State, Provincial, National, Regional and World Games. Annually, more than 97,000 dedicated and compassionate law enforcement members carry the Flame of Hope, symbolizing courage and celebration of diversity uniting communities around the globe. 

What We Do 

The LETR for Special Olympics engages law enforcement worldwide championing acceptance and inclusion for people with intellectual disabilities, starting first with their own communities. Over the years the Torch Run has evolved and now encompasses a variety of innovative fundraising platforms to include Plane Pulls, Polar Plunges, Tip-A-Cops, and more. Since inception, LETR has raised more than half a billion dollars and changed millions of attitudes worldwide.


Final Leg at World Games Berlin 2023

Chief Johns with City of Stayton – Government & Tiffany Monroe with Springfield Police Department attended the Special Olympics World Games Berlin 2023 to represent Special Olympics Oregon and Oregon Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics.

2023 Torch Run 'Official Runner' T-Shirts

Order today

LETR Merchandise

2023 Torch Run Shirts

Include sizes and amount needed of each. Shirts are $15 each
Any additional info

LETR Final Leg at World Games Berlin

Chief Johns of the City of Stayton – Government & Tiffany Monroe with Springfield Police Department are headed to Special Olympics World Games Berlin 2023 …

Partner Highlight : LETR 40 years and Chief Terry Wright 

Congratulations to Terry Wright who retired this month as Chief of Police in Tillamook, Oregon after 40 years in Law Enforcement. Chief Wright was a …

Volunteer Spotlight: Tiffany Monroe

The Special Olympics Oregon Board is excited to welcome Tiffany Monroe, a Management Analyst for the Springfield Police Department and the new Chair for the Law Enforcement Torch Run (LETR) Executive Council, as …

LETR – Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award recipient Marsha McCorkhill 

Each year, a special law enforcement volunteer is honored with the Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award. The award is given annually to a member of …

Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award Recipients

2021: Heather Martley, Portland Police + Jim Hamilton, Grants Pass Police
2020: Marsha McCorkhill, Coffee Creek Correctional
2019: Amy Bruner-Dehnert, Portland Police
2018: Tiffany Monroe, Springfield
2017: Jan Childers, Port of Portland
2016: Pam Ramsey, McMinnville
2015: Gwen Johns, Newberg-Dundee
Jeff Kaer, Portland (retired)
Rock Rakosi, Myrtle Point (retired)
Dala Johnson, Lebanon
Judy Macho, (retired)
Brian Frazzini, Salem
Kecia Weaver, Bend
Terry Wright, Tillamook (retired)
Dixon Andrews, (retired)
Chief Gross, (retired)
Joel Goodwin, Corvallis

Badge artwork-Color